In With the New

When is the last time you did something for the first time?

Learning something new can be intimidating. Picking up a camera, a paintbrush or an instrument can feel completely foreign. You may even avoid it because you’re a perfectionist and tend to think you have to be fluent in something before you can even give it a chance.

You don’t have time. I get it. You stay busy with class, or work. If you’re lucky enough to fit in a social life then you really don’t have time. If you live a busy life, “non-essential” things – like learning new skills – tends to get pushed aside. I’ve done it over and over.

There’s always a million reasons not to do something.

blogpost4

This past weekend, I learned something new, and friends, it feels wonderful. I learned how to play an instrument that I’ve wanted to learn for a while now, and over just a couple of days, I’ve learned a simple song (shoutout to YouTube). I got frustrated, doubtful at times and my fingertips are still a little sore, but – hey! Now I know a whole song on the ukulele! I developed a skill that I didn’t have last week. I think that in itself is worth something.

Learning something new doesn’t have to be hard! It can be something in your field that you are already familiar with. I love taking the time to learn a new skill in Photoshop or Final Cut. (You can never know too much.) These types of tasks even feel a little bit more beneficial because you will definitely use them, but that doesn’t mean learning something – like how to use a camera — is any less beneficial.

Who knows, you may even end up with your own little side business.

blogpost1

You could teach yourself how to make balloon animals and it would still be beneficial.

How? Thankfully, scientists have done all the work for us. Simply taking the time to learn something new stimulates the brain and ultimately makes you more productive. It also makes you happier and more attentive too! There’s literally NO negatives to this!

It may sound kind of backwards, taking the time out of your day to do this one thing that will make you accomplish more, but it’s true! Your brain will be working at full speed for the rest of the day!

Stop saying you want to do something and just go for it!

One day or day one. You choose.

What are some of the things I want to learn? There’s a lot! The obvious: get better at the ukulele. How to knit, calligraphy and hand lettering, how to french braid my own hair, how to play the guitar, how to sew, I’d like to get better at piano, how to paint with watercolor, more about Adobe Illustrator and InDesign, more about Photoshop and Final Cut, new recipes, more about blogging, more about gardening (I’m a sucker for plants) and so much more!

What do you want to learn?

3 thoughts on “In With the New

Leave a Reply

